Smokey green & red festive/winter night look

This one’s probably a bit late, but I thought it was a fun look, and lots of friends on IG seemed to really like it, so I figured I’d run through what I did to create this look. While it very much centred around red and green, you could definitely wear it with a nude coloured lip to make it more wearable throughout the yr.

myxj_20161218213926_save

Base: At the moment I’m using a concoction of Mac face and body, Armani luminous silk and Becca backlight priming filter. Winter can wreak all sorts of havoc on the skin so I like to have a slightly fuller coverage, but at the same time maintain some luminosity and dewiness. Finally, to detract from the lovely dark circles under my eyes, I used a little bit of YSL’s Touche Eclat.

Eyes: First of all I used UD eyeshadow primer potion as I knew this was going to be a heavy and dramatic look and I didn’t want it to crease. Next I used the lightest sandy shade from Chanel’s Candeur et Experience eyeshadow quad all over the eyelid, and over that I applied Β a darker brown and aΒ beautiful rusty red also from that quad.

dsc_3736
Les 4 Ombres in 268 Candeur Et Experience – Chanel

To create the smokiness, Β I ran a little (no, let’s be honest, a lot) bit of Charlotte Tilbury’s Colour chameleon eyeshadow pencil in Smokey Emerald over the lid, and blended it out using a Real Techniques base shadow brush (there is little this brush cannot do!)

Similarly, I applied some red along the lower lash line then went over it with a generous helping of Smokey emerald, and then blended it all out to make it seem almost like one colour.

To finish the eyes, I lined the upper lash line with liquid liner and doused the lashes in mascara πŸ˜‰

dsc_3743
Charlotte Tilbury Colour Chameleon Eyeshadow pencil in Smokey Emerald

Swatching – as you can see, while red and green are traditionally festive colours, this mossy/emerald shade of green and the rusty red are pretty versatile and could definitely be worn at other times….

dsc_3747
from left to right: CT smokey emerald, brown and red from Chanel quad, Coppering from Mac

Finally, to make the eyes extra striking and dramatic, I popped a little bit of Coppering from Mac in the inner corners

dsc_3737
Mac Coppering
dsc_3740
Mac Coppering

Cheeks: I didn’t want any more red in this look as I figured it would be a bit too much, so I skipped on blusher and bronzer and instead just contoured lightly using Smashboxes powder contour palette.

Lips: This was the fun and mildly frustrating part, I couldn’t decide for a while what to do with the lips and actually ended up trying a few different shades. First (pictured above) I went for Mac’s Lady Danger because a. its an incredible colour and so eye-catching, and b. it seemed to go really well with the coppery hue in the inner corners of the eyes….

dsc_3757
Mac Lady Danger

But then I felt that the bright red just wasn’t working with the smokey emerald and decided to tryΒ a darker shade – Olivia from Nars seemed like a good option (below). While I feel that the darker lip look was possibly more christmassy, and the colours worked more harmoniously together, a part of me preferred the the bolder bright look … but that’s just me :S

The (other) finished look:

myxj_20161218232612_save

Hope you like this look, would love to hear what you think πŸ™‚ Also, IΒ hope everyone had a lovely christmas, and happy New Year to all too! ❀

12 thoughts on “Smokey green & red festive/winter night look

Leave a Reply

