Dark Birthday/Winter Makeup

 

First of all, sorry I haven’t updated in such Β long time – we started clinical rotations in August, and I was working part-time at the time too. In my head of course all of this was possible… I’ve since made a few changes, and we have a considerably more relaxed module for december, so I’m hoping to posts a good few things over the next few weeks to (sort of) make up for it.

Secondly, I hope everyone is well! I’m really looking forward to catching up on everyone’s posts and seeing what you’ve been up to.

img_3440

So as some of you might know from IG, it was my birthday last month, and naturally I got lots of makeup gifts – here’s a look I created with them. I think its quite wintery with the dark browns and berry red.

I prepped the face with moisturiser, then with some of this beautiful Backlight Priming Filter from Becca (lets just say this was a gift to myself….. πŸ˜› )

dsc_3284

It glides really nicely onto the skin and leaves a lovely luminescence that glistens through your makeup up. It’s definitely more of a subtle glow than a shimmer.

dsc_3280
Check out that GLOW! I’m not usually one for scented makeup, but this smells so lovely and fresh!

Next I applied foundation and some under eye concealer, afterwards – eyeshadow!

This little guy was a gift fromΒ my best friends – they know me so well! Its the Bobbi Brown Chocolate Eye Palette. Β The shades apply and blend really smoothly and are pretty pigmented, so it’s easy to work with. I really like the fact that they are fairlyΒ neutral shades of brown, I find some browns can be quite red or coppery, which can be really nice, but I think these shades go particularly well with berry or red lips.

dsc_3277
I used the the taupe shade – Woodrose (top right) all over the lid, then some of Milk Chocolate (bottom left out of the top 4) at the edges to make it a bit more dramatic and smokey.

No classic eye would be complete without a little sweep of black liquid liner and lashings of mascara.

For years, I’ve heard makeup artists rave about Tom Ford lipsticks, and one I seemed to hear a lot about was ‘black dahlia’. Being a lover dark lips, I was curious to see what the hype was about….

dsc_3108
That packaging though!

While I have to admit, TF has the whole packaging and design thing down, I’m not sure the price-tag can quite be justified… The colour is beautiful, and very long lasting, but I feel there are other equally pigmented and long-lasting lip colours out there for a fraction of the price… That said, I plan on using every last bit of it πŸ™‚

dsc_3093

I also got this lovely dark blue-red from Nars, it’s Olivia from the Audacious collection. The Audacious lipsticks are wonderfully pigmented and really comfortable to wear, and I think this shade of red is pretty versatile.

dsc_3271
Left – Olivia from Nars. Right – TF Black Dahlia.

As lovely as these shades are alone – they’re even more pretty together πŸ˜‰ First I applied Black Dahlia, then to make it a bit more red, went over it with Olivia.

dsc_3273
Black Dahlia with Olivia over it

Finally some translucent powder, and a bit of bronzer and blush… This was the final look. (There are more photos on my IGΒ of the makeup and the outfit I was wearing if you’re interested)

facetune-3

Some lovely birthday surprises:

dsc_3103

Hope you like this look, and would love to know what your favourite winter makeup looks are πŸ™‚ Have a lovely weekend,y’all! ❀

43 thoughts on “Dark Birthday/Winter Makeup

  1. Lovely looks! I also tried a Tom Ford lipstick–it was a gift from my son and daughter-in-law. Nice product but definitely over priced. That said, the lipstick broke. I contacted TF and they replaced the product! Very cool.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

