Dark Ombre Lips with Nyx ‘Dark Soul’ Lipliner

So, after what seems like a very long time, Nyx have finally launched in Dublin. After hearing so many people rave about their products on the internet, I really wanted to see if the brand would up to all the hype. Since I’d never tried anything from Nyx before, I thought I’d dip my toes in by trying something I’ve been looking for for quite a while – a deep red/burgandy lip liner .

(Strangely, ‘drugstore’ brands don’t seem to stock many dark coloured lip-liners – I’d searched Maybelline, Rimmel, L’oreal, Bourjois, MaxFactor, you name it, but none of them seemed to have a great selection. I know places like MAC have every colour under the sun, but for lip and eye liners, I don’t really see the point on spending loads when you can get great quality from more affordable brands.)

DSC_0495

After swatching a few different shades, I settled on this lovely rich hue, ‘Dark Soul.’ It was €7.75 from Boots, which isn’t especially cheap, but still considerably less than a high end version.

DSC_0496
‘Slide on, glide on

I was amazed at how easily and beautifully this applied – it really did ‘slide on, glide on’ – it was like silk. The liner was also really pigmented so you wouldn’t have to apply a lot to get a good payoff. I wore it to go out for dinner and drinks with my friends and by the end of the evening, I’d say there was still a decent amount around my lips where I’d applied it. And as an added bonus – it didn’t bleed at all!!!

DSC_0499
swatch of Nyx ‘Dark Soul’ lip liner

To create a really bold statement ombre look I lined my lips with Dark Soul, and, using the same pencil, filled in the outer corners of my lips, going lighter with it as I came towards the centre. Then, using a lip brush, I generously applied Nars Audacious Lipstick in BetteΒ all over the lips.

DSC_0500
Nars Audacious Lipstick in Bette

This was my finished look. The ombre was quite subtle as I didn’t want it to be too obvious, but you can still see that the outer edges are that little bit darker than the centre.
IMG_2969

Hope you like this look! Would love to hear what your experiences with Nyx have been and if there are any products you would recommend. Have a lovely week, everyone! πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “Dark Ombre Lips with Nyx ‘Dark Soul’ Lipliner

  1. Amazing post! I really loved DarkOmbre Lips with Nyx, But deep Pink lips are really better with me. Sometimes deep red lips attractive me. Do yo hear the name of LEFcosmeticsbd? I think it really the great brand for me. Whatever, I fully appreciate this post. Thanks! For sharing. See you again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

