Chanel-inspired Makeup Look

So there’s been a little cut-out from a 2012 issue of Vogue stuck on my wall for the last 4 yrs – it was from the Chanel Spring 2012 show and I fell in love instantly with the beautiful airy and ethereal feel of it. I’d wanted to try something like it for years, but never really got around it – until now πŸ˜‰

The look was based around glowing, ‘natural’ skin, eyes and lips,Β and LOTs of pearl details – this was my take on it:
FullSizeRender-13


  1. Face: First of all, I applied Kiehls Ultra Facial Cream as a base. Next, I mixed YSL Touche Eclat Foundation (I used foundation a shade or 2 lighter and a hint cooler than I usually would as I felt it fit the pearlescent lookΒ a little better) with MAC Strobe Cream and a drop of argan oil (mixing foundation with a drop of natural oils is a great way to create a really glowing, dewy finish).

2. Eyes: MAC Prep & Prime Highlighter Light Boost was used over the lid as a base and under the eyes to brighten any darkness. MAC pigment in ‘Naked’ was then patted over the entire lid, concentrating on the mobile part , and Soft & Gentle Mineralise Skinfinish from MAC was then used to blend the eye makeup up towards the brow bone. Benefit Bad Gal Waterproof Eyeliner was used along the upper lash line and set with black shadow (I used Carbon from MAC).

DSC_0335
MAC Pigment in Naked. (That chipped nail polish though :S )

3. Β Eyes – the fun part: I found these lovely little ‘pearl’ stickers in a local arts and crafts shop for €2.75. They were really easy to apply – I literally just stuck them on, no glue or any other product, and they lasted the day (yes, I did go out for the day with a few on… ). On the brows I used Bobbi Brown Clear Brow gel to give a youthful full brow effect. And finally, don’t forget mascara πŸ˜‰

DSC_0338

FullSizeRender-14
Experimenting with the pearl stickers – feel free to play around with them, adding some or taking some away until you find a design you like. MAC Hush Cream Colour based was used in the inner corners of the eyes to continue the etheral glow theme.

4. Cheeks: LIPSTICK – yup, you heard me! Lipstick as cheek colour is great for a sheer dewy finish, it also helps tie the whole look together. For this, I took my 2 new favourites nude/pink/blush hues and, using my fingers, blended them onto my cheeks… A little highlighter (Hush from MAC again) was blended just above the ‘blush’ to highlight the high parts of the cheekbones.

DSC_0339
Chanel Rouge Coco in #434 Mademoiselle
DSC_0340
Bobbi Brown Nourishing Lip Colour in BlushΒ 
DSC_0337
Cream Colour Base in ‘Hush’from MAC

5. Lips: I used the same lipsticks that I used on my cheeks, using the darker one first, and the lighter, more sheer colour over it, and finally topped it all off with a nice dallop of MAC clear Lipglass for maximum impact πŸ˜‰

DSC_0333
MAC Lipglass – clear

This was the final look …

FullSizeRender-11
I found this beautiful beaded off-white top in Folkster last year and fell in love with it – think it ties in with the Chanel theme pretty well πŸ˜‰

Hope you liked this, let me know what you think, and would love to hear what inspiration you like to take from the runways! Hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

 

 

34 thoughts on “Chanel-inspired Makeup Look

    1. Thank you so much Eleni! I’ve been pretty fortunate to have fairly good skin since I was young, but a little FaceTune-ing to blur out any spots or imperfections that occasssionally pop up is also great. I try to take my photos on bright days too, good light helps make skin appear better in photos I find πŸ™‚ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

