It was all Yellow

We recently started the clinical part of our course (I’ll try to do a post about what it has been like so far-  for anyone who is interested – after our final exams of the semester), which has meant getting up at 5.50am some mornings for ward rounds. Needless to say, if I can manage tinted moisturiser, under-eye brightener and mascara on those mornings, I feel like I’m doing pretty well! On the plus side – I’m trying out lots of adventurous looks at the weekend. This is the one I posted on instagram last week 🙂

IMG_2801

I was browsing through MAC recently and pretty instantly fell in love with this beautiful yellow. For whatever reason the light has made it show up more light and powdery in the photo than it actually is – in reality, it’s more of a canary yellow – you can check it out here on the MAC website. It’s called Chrome Yellow, and I thought it would be interesting to try.

IMG_2826
‘Chrome Yellow’
  1. After applying my foundation and eyeshadow primer, I applied a neutral off-white shadow from Benefit as a base (I got it in a gift set and have since thrown out the leaflet with the names – but it looks like Milk It – any kind of white shadow or primer should do though – just to make the yellow pop a bit more)
  2. Next I worked Yellow Chrome over the lid using a Real Techniques Deluxe Crease Brush and a MAC 239 brush. I builded it up until I got the desired intensity.
IMG_2830
Real Techniques Deluxe Crease Brush
IMG_2829
MAC 239 Eye Shader Brush

3. I wanted to try two different looks so one side I blended Brun with a tiny bit of Shadowy Lady, both from MAC, and applied it using the 239 brush just above the fold of the lid (the idea was to create a kind of ‘cut crease’ look – but I’m not sure how possible that is with mono/hooded lids).

IMG_2799

 

IMG_2827
Brun
IMG_2828
Shadowy Lady

4. On the lower lid I applied a light wash of the white colour from Benefit, and beneath that, a very light smudged out line of Brun.

5. For the liner, I used Master Ink in Charcoal Black from Maybelline to line the upper lid and create a small wing. Under the eye I used the same liner over the brown shadow, following the shape of the eye generally, but straightening it out a bit and flicking it outwards at the inner corner to create a dramatic open eye effect (see the blurb beneath the image for my thoughts on this product)

IMG_2831
Maybelline Master Ink in Charcoal Black
IMG_2832
The texture of this liner is lovely, it glides and and dries with a beautiful satin finish which I love. I often find that gel liners stick to eyelash curlers sometimes, but this didn’t at all, which I also really liked. However, the brush is pretty awful, the fibres were splayed even though it was my first time using it, which made it pretty impossible to get nice straight lines. The top of the bottle was also too narrow for my other liner brushes to fit into… So unless I can find a smaller brush, I’m not sure I’d buy it again…

6. On the other side, I applied Chrome Yellow to the lower lash line, blending it out to give a smudged effect. Next I applied some black shadow as eyeliner across the upper lash line, and tight-lined the upper and lower lash lines using Benefits Bad Gal Liner, blending it heavily on the lower to create a smokey effect.

IMG_2800

7. Some mascara, on the upper and lower lashes, a pop of highlighter in the inner corners and some brow gel, and we’re done with the eyes! Phew!

8. Finally, on the lips I applied MAC’s Lady Danger and Flaunt it from Sleek Makeup to create a striking orange -red hue.

IMG_2815

Hope you like these looks! Let me know what you think, and would love to hear what wild and wonderful looks you like trying out when you’ve the time!

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

 

 

11 thoughts on “It was all Yellow

    1. Lol, I hadn’t a clue either, I just saw the shadow and fell in love with it! Definitely experiment, it’s really fun playing around with colours you wouldn’t normally wear. good luck, i look forward to seeing your looks! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

