Soft Smokey Eyes

A lot of people asked about my make-up last Wednesday, so I thought I’d do a little step-by-step of what I did to achieve the look. In my last post I talked about the lip colours I used, so this is kind of like the part II, I guess… I tried to pack as much detail in as possible, so apologies if it’s a little longer than usual…

On that note, let’s get started:

DSC_1622

1. Eye primer – this helps keep your eye make up in place and will usually lend more intensity to the colours you use. I like Urban Decay’s Eye Primer Potion as it like glue for eye makeup, helping it last for anything from 12- 24 hrs – though I’ve heard great things about MAC cream shadows as primers too 🙂

2. Base colour – the base colour will allow you to blend shades together seamlessly later on. To do this, I swept the shade Naked from Urban Decay’s Naked 2 palette all over my eyelid, taking it all the way up to the brows. I used a Bobbi Brown Eye Blender eyeshadow brush as I find it spreads the base colour evenly across the lid.

DSC_1678
Urban Decay Naked 2 palette – the shades I used were ‘Buck’ (3rd from left – name clearly rubbed off from so much love 😛 ) and ‘Naked’ (5th from bottom)

3. Create dimension – using a a standard eyeshadow brush (I used MAC eyeshade brush (#239)) I applied Buck from the Naked 2 palette to the outer part of the eyelids. As I don’t have prominent creases, I like to take the darker shades just above the brow bone and extend this colour about 2/3 of the way back towards the inner corners of the eye. Keep it darker on the outer edges though for more drama and dimension.

DSC_1682
MAC ‘Shadowy Lady’

4. Apply dark shadow to outer corners to create a smokey effect – using an eyeshadow fluff brush, I applied a few layers of ‘Shadowy Lady’ from MAC – again to the outer edges of the lids, blending it as I brought it inwards. (I find it easier to do a really light sweep of the darker colour with the general shape you’re going for, then apply more in the areas you want more intensity in afterwards – just so that you don’t end up with scary Halloween panda eyes – unless of course that’s what you’re after 😛 )

DSC_1687
from top to bottom: MAC Shadowy Lady, UD Buck, UD Naked.

5. BLEND, BLEND, BLEND.

6. Line upper lash line – liquid eyeliner is my go to for any occasion, but before applying it, I always make sure to line them with dark shadow and an eyeliner brush first – this way you can basically trace over it with the liquid liner (tada, no wobbly disasters!). It also ties the whole smokey look together really nicely .

DSC_1622 - Version 2
For the liquid liner, I really like Rimmel’s Exaggerate Liquid Eyeliner in black. I’ve used so many different brands and formulas in the past, but I always find myself coming back to this product as it’s really affordable and glides onto the lid effortlessly.

7. Line under the eyes – personally I’m not a fan of eyeliner along the lower lash line as it often makes eyes look smaller. Instead, try gently lining the lower part of your eyes with  eyeshadow to create a soft and subtle look that really opens up your eyes. (I used the exact same colours I used on the lids, in the same order, with the same brushes that I used above to do this)

8. Highlight – the inner corners of your eye (this will brighten them up) and beneath the arch of the brow to add dimension (I used MAC’s cream highlighter in Hush)

9. Mascara – Finally, I curled my eyelashes, and swept 2 coats of mascara  (loving YSL’s Babydoll mascara at the moment! ) across the upper and lower lashes. (Eyebrow gel may also have been used to ensure the brows stayed in place all night 😉 )

IMG_1633a - Version 2

Hope that was of some help 🙂  If you’ve any other tips or tricks,  as always, I’d love to hear!

Happy smokey-eye-creating my friends! ❤

10 thoughts on “Soft Smokey Eyes

Leave a Reply

