Everyday Essentials: YSL Babydoll Mascara and Touche Eclat

Have you ever been stranded on a desert island and had to think to yourself ‘now, what beauty products should I have brought with me?’

No, me neither.

But I have been stuck, on many an occasion, with 10 minutes to get ready in the morning, wondering how socially acceptable it is to run out the door with Medusa-inspired bed hair, under-eye bags bigger than my eyes themselves and a hoody that has no doubt seen better days.

I know some women who can’t leave the house without face make-up, others who can’t depart sans lipstick. Personally, I’m an eye-girl. That’s not to say I can’t go out without eye make-up, I can, it’s just better for my fellow human beings, trust me, if i don’t leave my house without at least having made some effort to reduce the ginormous under eye circles and bags that seem to haunt me endlessly.

DSC_0954.JPG

YSL Volume Effet Faux Cils Babydoll Mascara:

Words cannot quite describe how much I love this product. My eyelashes are kind of short and insanely straight, so I’m eternally on the look out for something that will lengthen them and maintain whatever bit of curl mr.eyelash curler bestows.

DSC_0946

I fell in love with Babydoll the first time I applied it because it did exactly this, my lashes seem so much longer and fuller and I like the way it doesn’t clump.

Before and after –

The product has fantastic lasting power, I usually put it on the morning and it’s still in tact by night.DSC_0969

At around 30 euro, it is pricey, but whenever I’ve a bit of extra money (mainly christmas and birthdays πŸ˜› ) I like to splurge on this, and since I wear mascara everyday, it always feel well worth it. (When I can’t afford this mascara, I really like Max Factor Masterpiece mascara, it’s about half the price and does a almost the same job – though Babydoll gives a lot more definition and that’s why I love it)

DSC_0940.JPG

YSL Touche Eclat:

Since I wear very light face make-up (I tend to mix a drop of tinted moisturiser with moisturiser) and often none at all, it’s hard to wear a heavy concealer under my eyes. The problem is, under eye bags and circles seem to be my biggest cosmetic problem. I’ve tried many correctors and concealers, but they all have turned out to be the wrong tone or – and this is the main problem -they appear really caked and obvious if there’s no base such as foundation.

DSC_0942

So my answer to this has been Touche Eclat. Admittedly, it doesn’t give much coverage, so if that’s what you’re after, you’re probably better off using a light concealer first, then going over it with Touche Eclat to brighten it up. I find that it does a nice job of lessening the darkness of those bags and shadows Β and the light reflecting particles help make the under eye area that little bit brighter and more awake – which is what I’m always after.

DSC_0945
Touche Eclat in #1

Before and after light everyday make up –

This product can also be used for highlighting Β various parts of the face to add definition, such as the cupids bow or bridge of the nose.

DSC_0944
handy brush for quick and easy application
DSC_0973
5 minute everyday makeup: Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturiser, MAC strobe cream, MAC hush cream highlighter, YSL touchΓ© Eclat, YSL Babydoll mascara, Bobbi Brown Natural Brow Shaper, Giorgio Armani Lipstick

What are your go-to products when you’re pressured for time/feeling lazy?

As always, I’d love to know!

Hope you’re having a lovely weekend ❀

8 thoughts on “Everyday Essentials: YSL Babydoll Mascara and Touche Eclat

Leave a Reply

