Shine On

Fresh, dewy, glowing skin – is there anything more beautiful? Do you ever open up an issue of Vogue or Elle and just stare, absolutely mesmerised, at those radiant faces? I do. All the time actually. Sure, contouring is great, yes, matte can often look better on camera, but when the sun shines on a perfectly highlighted face, that, for me, is perfection. There’s something absolutely ethereal about the way the light bounces back….

shine

Up until recently I’ve used cream highlighters religiously – in particular MAC’s strobe cream and MAC’s Shell and Hush cream bases. I like to mix the strobe cream with my Laura Mercier Illuminating Tinted Moisturiser for beautiful, bright, radiantΒ skin, then finish up by popping some extra highlight with Hush or Shell. But a little voice in my head kept nagging at me to try a powder, in particular MAC’s Soft & Gentle Mineralise Skinfinish. I’d heard people raving about it, I gazed at it lovingly as I sauntered through MAC aisles, but I couldn’t help but think it would leave my skin looking heavy and caked in make up.

Boy, was I wrong, Hush gives a lovely soft glow, but if you want traffic-stopping radiance, you can’t go wrong with Soft&Gentle.

highlighter
MAC Soft & Gentle

Everytime I’ve worn it so far, my friends have complimented my skin saying that I was positively glowing. It’s becoming a firm favourite and a staple part of my daily makeup routine.

more glow.jpg

Here I layered Soft & Gentle over Hush for some pretty wonderful glowiness –
cream and powder

If you’re thinking of investing in highlighter, I’d strongly recommend either – or both. They both stay on for hours and don’t budge, and are really easy to apply.

MAC highlighters

What are your favourite products for getting that fresh from the spa dewy look? Let me know in the comments below! As usual, would love to hear from you πŸ™‚

(These products actually look more bronze in real life in their packaging. I took these photos in natural light – and I’m guessing thats the nature of a highlighting product, that it reflects light so will look very different under different light. Once you apply them though, there’s no bronzy effect at all, just a really nice sheen or glow, as seen in the swatches πŸ™‚ )

 

2 thoughts on “Shine On

  1. I like to put on blush and with very lightly tap it over with highlighter. Result is healthy glow πŸ™‚ I’m using The Balm Mary-Lou highlighter and Fratboy blush. I talked about them in my blog post called “Top 5 Products”. You might want to check it out πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

