Don’t forget to sing in the lifeboats!

As a child and teen my love of performing arts and writing knew no bounds. I spent summers immersed in rehearsals, belting out (attempting to) Broadway numbers and huddled over notebooks scribbling stories and verses at any spare moment I had. Then as I ventured into my second decade, and the workload of college courses increased and a whole host of new commitments crawled in (Oh hi there, grown-up life!), it became more difficult to make time for everything.

I think it happens to everyone at some point – we get caught up in daily life, forgetting to take time out for ourselves. When was the last time you savoured your morning coffee without scrolling through your Instagram feed or gawking at the number of unanswered emails in your inbox? When was the last time you stopped to admire the beautiful white clouds above or laughed so hard you cried?

In medicine I’m reminded daily to cherish every single moment.  Life is short, and it’s uncertain. We may not like to talk about it, but I think we’ve all had moments where the thought has made its way back in. We’re never promised another minute, another breath, the only one we have for certain is the one we’re taking right now – this very moment. So let’s celebrate who we are, those we love, what we have, and stop the endless comparisons and self-doubt because really, we just don’t have that kind of time.

I guess this blog is my attempt to inject a little bit of what I love into my everyday life – even if it gets soppy and sentimental – and I hope it inspires you to do the very same.

As Mae West wisely said, ‘You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.’

Kathy

DSC_0620
Took this at this Giant’s Causeway Co Antrim. I think it’s really important to log off and get out in nature every now and then. 
Leave a Reply

